Today, Members of the County Assembly led by the Speaker Hon. Kevin Kinengo Katisya Witnessed the ascension of the Kitui River Basin Sand Utilization and Conservation Bill, 2023, into law by H.E Dr. Julius Malombe.

Speaking during the inking ceremony, Speaker Kinengo said that the process of making this Bill has been characterized by rigorous consultations between the County Assembly and the County Executive.

The Speaker further hailed the MCAs led by Members of the Assembly Standing Committees on Delegated County Legislation and Environment, Energy and Mineral Investments Development for their unwavering commitment and tireless efforts in steering the Kitui County River Basins Sand Utilization and Conservation Policy and Bill respectively to completion.

“In collaboration with the Executive led by our Governor, we have demonstrated our unwavering commitment to responsible governance and environmental stewardship. As we celebrate this momentous occasion, we reaffirm our commitment to serving the people of Kitui County and above all, ensure that there is unshakable unity and collaboration between the County Assembly and the Executive”, added Speaker Kinengo.

In his remarks, H.E Governor Malombe said that the county has in the recent past experienced an increasing demand for her naturally occurring sand, noting his government’s commitment to save the county from receding water tables, drying up of most rivers, unstable river banks and unchecked floods.

According to the governor, the assent of the bill is in fulfillment of the constitutional requirements including individual and collective contribution and roles contemplated in Article 69 and fulfilled in Article 70.

Also present during the occasion were Deputy Governor H.E Augustine Wambua Kanani, Kitui County MCAs led by Hon. Christopher Nzilu (Deputy Speaker & MCA Kyangwithya West), Hon. Harrison Maluki (Majority Leader & MCA Migwani), Hon. Alex Nganga (Minority Leader & MCA Miambani), Hon. Kimanzi Muange (Chair of Committee on Environment, Energy & Mineral Investments Development & MCA Tseikuru), and Hon. Cornelius Muthami (Chair of Committee on Delegated County Legislation & MCA Mui), County Executive Committee Members (CECMs), Chief Officers, among other invited leaders.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *